1. Mailjet
  2. Support
  3. Documentation

Account Sharing

Summary

Introduction

With Mailjet Account sharing, team collaboration on your campaigns and templates just got a lot easier.

Assign different permissions to each person’s access based on their role. Allow your email marketers full access to create, design and send campaigns, but limit your designers only to editing the templates. Allow your email marketers access to your campaigns, and your developers access to your transactional templates and Real-Time Monitoring. Only share the billing sections with your accounting team.

Pick from our predefined User Roles (Manager, Accountant, Developer, Marketer, Designer), or create your own custom role.

You can also grant advanced user restrictions to a limited number of users*.

* The number of users with advanced restriction options are available with our Premium Plans (Crystal and above).

Your Account Sharing Page

Go to My Account → Account Sharing.

The ‘Share your account’ page will provide an overview of current users and their accesses to your account. By default, you as the owner of the Mailjet account, will always be the listed at the top of the table as Owner.

Before sharing your account, let’s examine the different User Roles and Advanced Restrictions.

User Roles

Easily share and manage who has access to your account based on their job role:

Manager: Has access to your entire account except account sharing

Accountant: Can access your Current Plan Details, Prepaid Account & Deposits, and Past Invoices.

Developer*: Can manage API credentials, publish transactional templates, setup monitoring alerts and lock transactional template sections to protect them.

Marketer*: Can manage contact lists, send campaigns and manage automation workflows. Can also suggest modification to transactional templates but cannot publish them.

Designer*: Can only access templates and suggest changes, without publishing them. Can also lock sections to protect the template’s design.

Custom: Select which areas the user can access: Campaigns, Transactional, Email Automation, Contacts, Statistics, Billing (Master Account only), and Account Management.

* Available on Premium Plans (Crystal and above).

[top]

Advanced Restrictions

Go a step further with Advanced Restrictions to allow which actions a Developer, Marketer or Designer can do within your templates / gallery (Campaigns, Transactional, Automation):

  • Can only edit draft templates, but not publish them to the gallery
  • Cannot create, edit or delete labels
  • Cannot lock or unlock sections in templates

Advanced Restrictions are available on Premium Plans and each plan is packaged with a given number of accesses (that can be extended by requesting a custom quote):

Plan Number of Accesses
Bronze Premium 0
Crystal Premium, Silver Premium, Gold Premium 2
Platinum Premium, Diamond Premium 3


Please note, the maximum number of accesses applies to only the Advanced Restrictions Roles (Developer, Marketer, Designer) and the Custom Role.

If you reach the maximum number of accesses on your plan and require more, please upgrade to a higher plan or contact us for a custom plan.

[top]

Share Access to Your Account

You can give access to your Master Account and any of your sub-accounts.
(Not sure what a sub-account is? Take a quick look at our Sub-account FAQ).

Depending if you have sub-accounts or not, the steps involved in sharing your account are different:

Invite a User (You have no sub-accounts)

From the ‘Share your account’ page, click on ‘Invite User’.

Enter the email address of the person you want to share your account with.

Now you will set the access for the person:

You can select a predefined role of Manager, Accountant, Developer, Marketer or Designer. Simply select the role and then click the ‘Send Invitation’ button.

Or you can create a custom role for this person by clicking ‘Custom’ .

The window will expand to show all the available permissions; simply check the ones you want to give. From the ‘Activate the same permissions as’ drop-down, you can quickly apply the permissions from a predefined user role (Manager, Accountant, Developer, Marketer or Designer), or click to uncheck all permissions.

Once all the permissions are set, click the ‘Send Invitation’ button.

If you selected advanced restrictions (Premium Plans above Bronze only), a popup will summarize the number of advanced restrictions (accesses) remaining based on your plan.

An email invitation will be sent to the person asking them to join Mailjet. If the person already has a Mailjet account, they can use that existing one to access your account. Otherwise they will need to create a new Mailjet account.

Once the person has accepted your invitation, the status will change from ‘Pending’ to ‘Active’.

[top]

Invite a User (You have sub-accounts)

From the ‘Share your account’ page, click on ‘Invite User’.

Enter the email address of the person you want to share your account with.

The next step is select which of accounts the person should have access to.

From the drop-down list, select the accounts and then click ‘Add’. To remove a selected account, just click on the trash icon.

Now set the access for this person for each account:

You can select a predefined role of Manager, Accountant, Developer, Marketer, or Designer. Or you can create your own custom role by selecting ‘Custom’ from the drop-down list.

If you select ‘Custom’, the window will expand to show all the available permissions.

Simply click on each permission to select or unselect it. You can click on the ‘Activate the same permissions as’ drop-down list to quickly apply a predefined role access or choose to uncheck all permissions.

Also, if you are creating a custom role for the Master account, you have the option to quickly copy these permissions to all other selected sub-accounts by checking ‘Copy to all below’.

Once all the permissions have been set, click ‘Send Invitation’.

If you selected advanced restrictions (Premium Plans above Bronze only), a popup will summarize the number of advanced restrictions (accesses) remaining based on your plan.

An email invitation will be sent to the person asking them to join Mailjet. If the person already has a Mailjet account, they can use that existing one to access your account. Otherwise they will need to create a new Mailjet account.

Once the person has accepted your invitation, the status will change from ‘Pending’ to ‘Active’.

[top]

Manage Account Accesses

Edit Access

You can change the role of any user at any time, regardless if the invitation has been accepted.

Simply click on Manage → Edit.

Make the changes, and then click the ‘Update Access’ button.

Delete Access

You can revoke the access of any user, even if the invitation has not been accepted.
From the ‘Manage’ menu, select ‘Delete Access’.

Re-send invitation

If the user has not accepted the invitation and has a ‘Pending’ status, you can re-send the invitation email by selecting Manage → Re-send invitation.

Downgrading (from Premium to lower Premium Plan)

If you try to downgrade to a lower Premium Plan, you may encounter the following message:

In these cases, you will need to reduce the number of accesses with Advanced Restrictions to fit the new Premium Plan limitations before you can downgrade.

Downgrading (from Premium to Basic Plan)

If you have applied Advanced Restrictions to some users, and try to downgrade to a Basic Plan, the following message will appear:

You need to decide how to handle the users with Advanced Restrictions:

If you wish to give your Advanced Restrictions users full access to your templates (draft, publish), labels and locked sections, click ‘Downgrade anyways’ to downgrade immediately to the Basic Plan.

Otherwise, click ‘Review permissions’ to jump to the Account Sharing page to make changes and remove the Advanced Restrictions that were given to some users. Once completed, simply go back to the Pricing Page and downgrade to the desired Basic Plan.

[top]

Try Mailjet now ?
Create an account - no engagement, no hidden fees